The Sumerian Curse by Leigh Anderson

After the death of her mother, Evelyn Crowley traveled with her father on his expeditions to the Near East seeking lost treasures and at a young age became a skilled translator of Arabic, Greek, and Ancient Sumerian. But a tragic accident – of which Evelyn was the sole survivor – ensured she was sent back to the safety of London and polite society.

Ten years later, while volunteering at the British Museum, a strange missive arrives, requesting Evelyn’s assistance with translating an ancient book owned by the elderly Lord Craven. Evelyn’s supervisor at the museum warns her not to take the job, but she can’t refuse. She packs what she can and climbs into Lord Craven’s carriage, bound for Carnarvon Castle.

Upon her arrival, however, she learns that it was not the elderly Lord Craven who requested her for the job, but his son, the handsome and dashing Alister Shaw. The elderly Lord Craven is dead, but Alister would like her to translate the book in his honor. Even though she knows she should refuse – for the sake of her reputation – she cannot resist the chance to finally earn respect for her translation skills. Even if the only character she can read in the book initially is a single word – Evil.

Will Evelyn decipher the book and learn its terrible secret before a past she longed to forget catches up with her? Or will she fall into disrepute when she can no longer resist her attraction to Alister Shaw?

Amazon

About the Author

LEIGH ANDERSON loves all things Gothic and paranormal. Her master’s thesis was on vampire imagery in Gothic novels and she met her husband while assuming the role of a vampire online. She currently teaches writing at several universities and has a rather impressive collection of tiny hats. She lives in a small town in the mountains with her husband, human child, and two fur-children. She is currently working on too many writing projects, and yet not enough. You can find all works by Leigh Anderson here. Visit her website LeighAndersonRomance.com.

Murder at the Peking Opera by Amanda Roberts

After helping Prince Kung avert an international disaster and negotiating with Inspector Gong’s mother for his betrothal to Concubine Swan, Lady Li takes a well-deserved evening to enjoy the first public performance by a female Peking opera performer. But her relaxing night out takes a dramatic turn when a murder is committed on stage during the performance.

Inspector Gong’s attempt at finding a distraction from the troubles in his heart is thwarted when he and Lady Li attend the same opera performance. Thankfully, a murder in front of hundreds of people plunges him into a world usually hidden behind curtains and costumes.

The empress has decreed that women can now play female roles in Peking’s beloved operas. But few women have been willing to undertake the challenge and risk the wrath of the more conservative opera patrons. When the first woman willing to step into the role of the “dan” becomes the prime suspect in the murder of her co-star, Lady Li begs Inspector Gong to delay in arresting the actress and find the real killer before the woman is executed for the crime. With the future of Chinese theater hanging in the balance, Inspector Gong must try to find the truth among people who mask their real faces for a living.

Will Lady Li and Inspector Gong discover the killer? Or will the empress’s first attempt at social change lose its head before it finds its footing?

Take a peek behind the curtain at the fascinating world of Chinese opera in Murder at the Peking Opera, book 3 in the Qing Dynasty Mystery Series.

Amazon

Don’t miss the complete Qing Dynasty Mystery Series here. 

About the Author

Amanda Roberts is a writer and editor who has been living in China since 2010. Amanda has an MA in English from the University of Central Missouri. She has been published in magazines, newspapers, and anthologies around the world and she regularly contributes to numerous blogs. Amanda can be found all over the Internet, but her home is TwoAmericansinChina.com.

You can find all books by Amanda Roberts here.

Sword Kissed by Leigh Anderson

Demons of Japanese myth lurk in Chiyoko Hollow, and if they aren’t stopped soon, the magic of the lands will be twisted beyond salvation.

Akari Tanaka is Sword Kissed, a human born with the power to harness magic through her katana. Her duty is to keep the residents-fae and human alike-safe from the increasingly dangerous demons that haunt Chiyoko Hollow. When people across Chiyoko begin disappearing, Akari is determined to find them-but so is half-fae warrior Takeo, who prefers to work alone.

As the bodies of the missing start turning up, drained of their life force, Akari realizes that they aren’t dealing with just any twisted demon. Now her sensei is missing, her sister has been spirited away, and her childhood rival has united with a demon of smoke and ash. But with their list of enemies growing longer and their allies shorter, if Akari and Takeo can’t learn to work together, the evil that threatens their world will prevail. And once that happens, there’s no turning back.

Fans of J. Y. Yang and Marjorie M. Liu will be spirited away by this dystopian paranormal romance based on Japanese lore.

Amazon

About the Author

LEIGH ANDERSON loves all things Gothic and paranormal. Her master’s thesis was on vampire imagery in Gothic novels and she met her husband while assuming the role of a vampire online. She currently teaches writing at several universities and has a rather impressive collection of tiny hats. She lives in a small town in the mountains with her husband, human child, and two fur-children. She is currently working on too many writing projects, and yet not enough. You can find all works by Leigh Anderson here. Visit her website LeighAndersonRomance.com.

The Emperor’s Seal by Amanda Roberts

Peking, 1902 – The Emperor’s Seal – the divine symbol of the Emperor on earth – is missing. The Empress will do whatever it takes to get it back.

Jiayi has a gift – she can travel through time just by touching historical artifacts. More than anything, she wants to escape the clutches of the Empress and run away to a foreign land. Finding the Emperor’s Seal could be her only chance at freedom, but is she willing to risk the wrath of the Empress?

Historian and wannabe archaeologist Zhihao has no love for the Empress or the Qing Dynasty, but when the Empress orders him to find the Emperor’s Seal in exchange for funding China’s first history museum, he cannot refuse. It is only after he accepts the assignment that he realizes the key to finding the seal lies in the hands of a palace slave.

Civil unrest and encroaching foreign powers threaten Jiayi and Zhihao’s mission and lives as they hunt for The Emperor’s Seal.

Amazon | Barnes&Noble | iBooks | Kobo | Google

About the Author

Amanda Roberts is a writer and editor who has been living in China since 2010. Amanda has an MA in English from the University of Central Missouri. She has been published in magazines, newspapers, and anthologies around the world and she regularly contributes to numerous blogs. Amanda can be found all over the Internet, but her home is TwoAmericansinChina.com.

You can find all books by Amanda Roberts here.

Murder in the British Quarter by Amanda Roberts

When a young Chinese woman is murdered within the British Quarter of the foreign legation, Inspector Gong is ordered by the Imperial Court to solve the crime before the incident escalates into war between China and the foreign powers. The only problem? Inspector Gong doesn’t speak English. And he is hardly the type of man to be accepted by the British elite living in Peking.

Once again, he must turn to the one woman who can help him. The woman he can’t stop thinking about.

Lady Li is trying to forget about Inspector Gong. He’s a danger to herself, her position, and her children’s future. But when he comes once again knocking on her door and asking for her assistance in solving a case, she can’t resist, despite her better judgment.

Lady Li’s language and diplomatic abilities allow her to freely enter the world of the Western visitors, but tensions between the foreigners and local people are increasing by the hour.

Will Lady Li and Inspector Gong be able to solve the crime without the answer leading China to war?

Amazon

Don’t miss the first book in the Qing Dynasty Mystery Series here. 

About the Author

Amanda Roberts is a writer and editor who has been living in China since 2010. Amanda has an MA in English from the University of Central Missouri. She has been published in magazines, newspapers, and anthologies around the world and she regularly contributes to numerous blogs. Amanda can be found all over the Internet, but her home is TwoAmericansinChina.com.

You can find all books by Amanda Roberts here.

Murder in the Forbidden City by Amanda Roberts

Peking, 1867

When one of the Empress’s ladies-in-waiting is killed in the Forbidden City, she orders Inspector Gong to find the killer. Unfortunately, as a man, he is forbidden from entering the Inner Court. How is he supposed to solve a murder when he cannot visit the scene of the crime or talk to the women in the victim’s life? He won’t be able to solve this crime alone.

The widowed Lady Li is devastated when she finds out about the murder of her sister-in-law, who was serving as the Empress’s lady-in-waiting. She is determined to discover who killed her, even if it means assisting the rude and obnoxious Inspector Gong and going undercover in the Forbidden City.

Together, will Lady Li and Inspector Gong be able to find the murderer before he – or she – strikes again?

Amazon

About the Author

Amanda Roberts is a writer and editor who has been living in China since 2010. Amanda has an MA in English from the University of Central Missouri. She has been published in magazines, newspapers, and anthologies around the world and she regularly contributes to numerous blogs. Amanda can be found all over the Internet, but her home is TwoAmericansinChina.com.

You can find all books by Amanda Roberts here.

The Governor’s Daughter by Sambath Meas

Anjali Chinak, a strong-minded daughter of a Khmer detective, is shocked by the horrible attack on her Eurasian friend, Esmè Laurent, who happens to be the governor’s daughter of Siem Reap, Cambodge. When the man Anjali is secretly in love with is charged with the brutal crime, she has only days to find the real perpetrator before he is put to death. Could it be the same man who has wreaked havoc in other Southeast Asian countries? Anjali is certain that the killer is a member of the royal family, but investigating them could put her own life at risk. As Anjali finds herself getting closer to the truth, she learns that the world is uglier than she could have ever imagined.

Amazon

About the Author

SAMBATH MEAS was born in Pailin, Cambodia at a time of civil war. Having survived the effects of the Vietnam War, the Khmer Civil War, and the Khmer Rouge regime, her parents decided not to stick around for another phase of mass killings.  Her family, like thousands of other Khmers, fled to the Cambodian-Thai border.  After being displaced in refugee camps for two years, Chicago became their new home. Meas graduated from Loyola University of Chicago. She has worked in the legal industry for over 19 years and contributes to the richness that is Chicago literature. In her spare time, she helps novice writers to get started with their stories. Learn more at SambathMeas.com. Find all books by Sambath Meas here.